Our Team

Many brilliant people have made Young New Yorkers a reality. Our team is multidisciplinary, grassroots, voluntary, and gorgeous-hearted. We are characterized by our shared commitment to empower our young participants to change the world.

Board of Directors

Board Chair

Camilla Velasquez

Senior Vice President of Product



Maryanne Paul, Esq

Senior Counsel

Tetragon Financial Group Limited


Paulo Ribeiro

Investment Professional


Rachel Barnard

Founding Director

Young New Yorkers


Dr. Mary McLeod, Ph.D.

Professor of Architecture

Columbia University


Cindy Wenig, Esq.

Former Partner

Chadbourne and Parke LLP

Joan Rosenbaum

Independent Consultant

Former Director

The Jewish Museum

Shane K. Rogers, Esq.


Covington & Burling LLP


Cultural Ambassadors

Carri Twigg


Cosmo Baker

Laura Stylez


David CHINO Villorente

Dr. Ian Wilson

Lisa Cooly


Rachel Barnard

Executive Director, Founder rachel@youngnewyorkers.org

Shawntiara Hayes

Peer Mentor and Program assistant


Mansura Khanam

Graduate Programs Coordinator


Ashley Martin

Operations Manager


Azeya Webb

Program Facilitator


Keeley Davenport

Operations Manager — Admin and Teams


Ash Rucker

Teaching Artist

David CHINO Villorente

Teaching Artist

Peer Mentors

Peer Mentors are Young New Yorker graduates who come on staff to assist new programs and guide new participants.

Daniel Aguilar (2012)

Monasia Lerece (2013)

Shawntiara Hayes (2015)

Mateo Ray (2015)

Harrison Rodriguez (2014)

Kimani Jackson (2014)

Emmanuel Agorioge (2014)

Kennya Luna De Olarte (2018)

Ambassador Board

Samantha Anderson — Co-Chair
Chelsea Hyduk — Co-Chair
Ayumi Sugiyama — Co-Chair
Beth Eckels — Secretary
Lisa Angulo
David Axelson
Brenda Backus
Natalya Bowen
Shawnda Chapman Brown
Lawrence Ciarallo
Lindsey Cohen
Rajiv Fernandez
Rachel Goodfriend
Glenna Gordon
Kristine Herman
Cathy Jones
Stephanie Jones
Jinsoo Kim
Jackie Krasnokutskaya
Jaclyn Lieck
Daniel Littlewood
Shuping Liu
Amy Maresko
Ambar Margarida
Gary McGaha Jr.
Tyler Nims
Anabelle Pang
Shakiva Pierre

Kathryn van Voorhees

Anastasia Voron
Morgan Wynne